Birdman Moment: Dark satire shines at Oscar gala

oscarsAmid star-studded and glamour-soaked Hollywood drizzle at the swish Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles, a dark satirical film about an ageing actor shone and stole the show, winning four coveted Oscars.

“Birdman,” which was nominated in nine categories, picked up four honours – Best Picture, Best Director (Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu), Best Writing (Original Screenplay) and Best Cinematography – at the 87th Academy Awards.

Neil Patrick Harris, the host, began the show by alluding to the much discussed lack of diversity in this year’s Oscars all-white acting nominees. “Tonight we honour Hollywood’s best and whitest — I mean brightest,” he said, with his tongue firmly in cheek. He even stripped down to his underwear, justifying a Birdman joke.

British actor Eddie Redmayne has won the best actor Oscar for The Theory of Everything, for his sensitive portrayal of Stephen Hawking. The British actor was clearly overwhelmed and described himself “one very very lucky man” — he dedicated the award to the film crew and his wife, the Hawking family and to “everyone around the world suffering from ALS”.

Julianne Moore was crowned as the best actress for her portrayal of a woman diagnosed with early onset dementia in “Still Alice”. Moore excitedly said on her big night. “After seeing the movie my husband said ‘You’re gonna win an Oscar’ and I said ‘Come ON!”

Best picture

American Sniper
WINNER: Birdman, or the Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance
The Grand Budapest Hotel
The Imitation Game
The Theory of Everything

Best lead actress

Marion Cotillard, Two Days, One Night
Felicity Jones, The Theory of Everything
WINNER: Julianne Moore, Still Alice
Rosamund Pike, Gone Girl
Reese Witherspoon, Wild

Best lead actor

Steve Carell, Foxcatcher
Bradley Cooper, American Sniper
Benedict Cumberbatch, The Imitation Game
Michael Keaton, Birdman, or the Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance
WINNER: Eddie Redmayne, The Theory of Everything

Best director

WINNER: Alejandro Iñárritu, Birdman, or the Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance
Richard Linklater, Boyhood
Bennett Miller, Foxcatcher
Wes Anderson, The Grand Budapest Hotel
Morten Tyldum, The Imitation Game

Best Supporting Actress

WINNER: Patricia Arquette, Boyhood
Laura Dern, Wild
Keira Knightley, The Imitation Game
Emma Stone, Birdman
Meryl Streep, Into the Woods

Best Supporting Actor

Robert Duvall, The Judge
Ethan Hawke, Boyhood
Edward Norton, Birdman
Mark Ruffalo, Foxcatcher
WINNER: J.K. Simmons, Whiplash

Best animated feature film of the year

WINNER: Big Hero 6
The Boxtrolls
How to Train Your Dragon 2
Song of the Sea
The Tale of The Princess Kaguya

Achievement in cinematography

Roger Deakins, Unbroken
WINNER: Emmanuel Lubezki, Birdman
Dick Pope, Mr. Turner
Robert Yeoman, The Grand Budapest Hotel
Lukasz Zal and Ryszard Lenczewski, Ida

Achievement in costume design

WINNER: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Inherent Vice
Into the Woods
Mr. Turner

Best adapted screenplay

Paul Thomas Anderson, Inherent Vice
Damien Chazelle, Whiplash
Jason Hall, American Sniper
Anthony McCarten, The Theory of Everything
WINNER: Graham Moore, The Imitation Game

Best original screenplay

Wes Anderson and Hugo Guinness, The Grand Budapest Hotel
Dan Futterman and E. Max Frye, Foxcatcher
Dan Gilroy, Nightcrawler
WINNER: Alejandro González Iñárritu, Nicolás Giacobone, Alexander Dinelaris and Armando Bo, Birdman
Richard Linklater, Boyhood

Best foreign language film of the year

Wild Tales

Best documentary feature

Finding Vivian Maier
Last Days in Vietnam
The Salt in the Earth

Best documentary short subject

WINNER: Crisis Hotline: Veterans Press 1
Our Curse
The Reaper
White Earth

Achievement in film editing

American Sniper
The Grand Budapest Hotel
The Imitation Game
WINNER: Whiplash

Achievement in makeup and hairstyling

WINNER: The Grand Budapest Hotel
Guardians of the Galaxy

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Best original score)

WINNER: Alexandre Desplat, The Grand Budapest Hotel
Alexandre Desplat, The Imitation Game
Johann Johannsson, The Theory of Everything
Gary Yershon, Mr. Turner
Hans Zimmer, Interstellar

Achievement in music written for motion pictures (Best song)

Everything is Awesome from The LEGO Movie (written by Shawn Patterson)
WINNER: Glory from Selma (written by Common and John Legend)
Grateful from Beyond the Lights (music and lyric by Diane Warren)
I’m Not Gonna Miss You from Glen Campbell … I’ll Be Me (written by Glen Campbell and Julian Raymond)
Lost Stars from Begin Again (written by Gregg Alexander, Danielle Brisebois, Nick Lashley and Nick Southwood)

Achievement in production design

WINNER: The Grand Budapest Hotel
The Imitation Game
Into the Woods
Mr. Turner

Best animated short film

The Bigger Picture
The Dam Keeper
Me and My Moulton
A Single Life

Best live action short film

Boogaloo and Graham
Butter Lamp
WINNER: The Phone Call

Achievement in sound editing

WINNER: American Sniper
The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies

Achievement in sound mixing

American Sniper
WINNER: Whiplash

Achievement in visual effects

Captain America
Dawn of the Planet of the Apes
Guardians of the Galaxy
WINNER: Interstellar
X-Men: Days of Future Past

Oscars 2015

Author Profile

India Writes Network
India Writes Network
India Writes Network ( is an emerging think tank and a media-publishing company focused on international affairs & the India Story. Centre for Global India Insights is the research arm of India Writes Network. To subscribe to India and the World, write to A venture of TGII Media Private Limited, a leading media, publishing and consultancy company, IWN has carved a niche for balanced and exhaustive reporting and analysis of international affairs. Eminent personalities, politicians, diplomats, authors, strategy gurus and news-makers have contributed to India Writes Network, as also “India and the World,” a magazine focused on global affairs.