Nepal’s 6-province demarcation deal a breakthrough

In a major step forward that could spur the adoption of a new constitution by Nepal, the four major political parties of the Himalayan state have reached a landmark deal to divide the country into six provinces, with each sharing a border with India, the country’s largest trading partner and source of foreign investment.

After months of intense negotiations and hurdles faced on the contentious issue of federalism, the four major parties broke the deadlock on the issue over the weekend. Nepal’s Prime Minister Sushil Koirala lauded the crucial development that has resolved a major divisive issue in the way of the adoption of a new federal constitution. “A constitution with federalism and demarcation has been ensured,” Mr Koirala tweeted. “I call on everyone to not be stuck on minor disagreements and work to build and develop the country”, he added.

The Constitutional-Political Dialogue and Consensus Committee (CPDCC) of the Constituent Assembly finally signed an agreement to carve out the six federal units. Further progress was made on another contentious issue regarding citizenship where children could acquire citizenship in the name of either mother or father, according to Deputy Prime Minister Prakash Man Singh.

Read More